Nix’s Pear & Raspberry Bread…

30 Mar

 

I love cooking. I love the transformation of separate ingredients into a finished whole. More than that, I love eating good food. So cooking to me is a win, win situation. A creative outlet that only delivers (fingers crossed) something tasty! Many believe its science. I believe cooking is an art that rests on an element of creative magic.

I cook like an Asian. I can’t follow a recipe to save my life. I literally cook, by taste and gut feeling. I use my vibe to decide what/how much of everything I put in…it doesn’t always work….but when it does, the satisfaction I feel, cant be described in words!

A few days ago, I rescued some sad looking pears in our fruit bowl and transformed them into an amazing (in my opinion) pear and raspberry bread…

Here is an ESTIMATED recipe…I take no responsibility for any disasters. I meant it when I say I don’t follow recipes. It’s a serious flaw. It probably links back to my general inability to follow instructions. Intuition. It works every time.

 

Nix’s Pear and Raspberry Bread

125g butter

1 cup brown sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla essence

2 eggs

1 cup self-raising flour

½ cup plain flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon maple syrup

½ cup unprocessed bran

2 pears, cored, peeled and chopped

1 cup frozen raspberries

Preheat oven to 180°C. Grease and line a loaf tin with baking paper. Cream the butter, brown sugar and vanilla until mixture lightens in colour. Beat in eggs, one at a time. Sift flours, baking powder and cinnamon and add to mixture with bran. Fold in gently until combined.

Add chopped pears, folding through followed by raspberries – make sure to fold gently to try and keep raspberries intact. Spoon into prepared loaf tin and cook in preheated oven for 1 hour or until browned and cook through. Leave in tin for 10 minutes, remove and cool, then slice thickly.

Serve toasted with a smidge of butter.  TRY IT!!! DELISH!

Leave a Reply

