Bike Ride of Death- Down the Champs-Elysees

26 Nov

You know those moment when you are trying to smile on the outside – but on the inside you are crying with fear?!

Well…that was me – riding a bicycle down the Champs-Elysees. Not by choice, my friend had forced me; “Come on it will be fun!”. Having a drink under the eiffel tower = fun. Trying on boutique clothe s= fun. Nearly dying in Paris = Not fun.

I’m no Lance Armstrong. And yes, admittedly I probably hold the record for being the  oldest kid in the park still on ‘training wheels’. And yes, I probably would still request training wheels if it was socially acceptable.

A forced smile on the oustide. But inside I was scared. My hands turned blue as I gripped the handle bars. I thought I was going to die. No, I’m not being dramatic – I honestly thought I was going to die.

A double-decker bus skimmed pass me. Parisians cursed me through their windows. I’m pretty sure I closed my eyes for some it.

My friend Jo rode ahead, laughing, waving…at one point even texting on her phone. I yelled abuse to her…in my head (was to scared to open my mouth).

Lesson learnt: Bike tours = not my ‘thang’. I am much better on foot.

Leave a Reply

